Election results: Forest Grove School Board incumbents ousted, new fire director elected

Forest Grove – Three incumbents who had hoped to retain their positions on the Forest Grove School Board have been defeated by newcomers, in line with a trend that saw many school board incumbents losing seats in the Portland Metro area Tuesday night.

The closest race for the Forest Grove School Board was between incumbent John Hayes and challenger Brad Bafaro. Bafaro won by 203 votes, with a total of 52.28% of the vote to Hayes’ 47.22%.

“I’m  honored and excited to serve, and grateful to those who voted for me.” said Bafaro. “I’m really excited that there are three of us new people on the board.”

Charless Waterman  and Fallon Harris were defeated by Valyrie Ingram, who took in 38.37% of the vote, and incumbent Lonnie Winkler was defeated by Mark Everett, who drew in 58.99% of the vote to Winkler’s 40.26%.

Other races in the area were uncontested, seeing Cleo Howell retain his seat on the Forest Grove Rural Fire District, and newcomer Terry Lewis joining the Forest Grove Rural Fire District after Randy Sahnow did not run for reelection.

Other winning candidates could not be reached for comment.

Sources & more information: